Print This Post

On 29th December 2020, His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia chaired the last in 2020 session of the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church.

The Primate of the Russian Church participated in the Holy Synod’s session remotely, from the Patriarchal residence in Peredelkino. His Holiness was in the hall where the Holy Synod had historically held its sessions.

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill addressed the Synod members with an opening speech, presenting the agenda of the meeting.

The list of permanent members of the Holy Synod includes: Metropolitan Onufry of Kiev and All Ukraine; Metropolitan Juvenaly of Krutitsy and Kolomna; Metropolitan Vladimir of Kishinev and All Moldova; Metropolitan Alexander of Astana and Kazakhstan, head of the Metropolitan area in the Republic of Kazakhstan; Metropolitan Vikenty of Tashkent and Uzbekistan, head of the Metropolitan area of Central Asia; Metropolitan Varsonofy of St. Petersburg and Ladoga; Metropolitan Veniamin of Minsk and Zaslavsk, Patriarchal Exarch for All Belarus; Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, chairman of the Moscow Patriarchate’s Department for External Church Relations; and Metropolitan Dionisy of Voskresensk, chancellor of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Invited to participate in the winter sessions (September – February) were Archbishop Aksy of Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk and Kurily; Bishop Yefrem of Borovichi and Pestovo; Bishop Alexy of Buzuluk and Sorochinsk; Bishop Simon of Shakhty and Millerovo; and Bishop Milety of Roslavl and Desnogorsk.

Press Service of the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia/

DECR Communication Service